In light of my 30th birthday and in honor of the guys who have all the fun, I’ll be offering thirty reflections in thirty days starting Monday, December 19th. (I’ll post on weekdays only so it’ll actually be over a six-week span.) Below is a table of contents for this series, with links added as I post them. Each day’s thought or suggestion stands alone, though some weeks are more themed than others. I haven’t tried to make a coherent case for anything, in part because that typically causes me to write way-too-long posts! So the only rule is that I have 250 words to make my point. After that just stop reading. Thanks for making my blog part of your internet experience.

  1. Take your life seriously.
  2. Balance doing what you love with doing what needs to be done.
  3. Don’t avoid risk because you’re afraid to fail.
  4. Words matter.
  5. To a worm in horse radish, the world is horse radish.
  6. Know your why.
  7. Let the the gospel live.
  8. Defining missional.
  9. Stop hating on the church.
  10. Jesus is a purple cow.
  11. The scariest thing about teaching.
  12. Embrace this season of life.
  13. Fear, failure, leadership & love.
  14. How (not) to love Facebook.
  15. How (not) to waste time.
  16. Be weird.
  17. Love your enemies.
  18. Jesus wants to kill you.
  19. On the problem of evil and suffering.
  20. The answer is yes. Or no.
  21. On (Christians) cussing.
  22. Politeness is more than just a middle-class coverup.
  23. Gender-inclusive Bible translations are superior.
  24. Keep reading people you don’t understand.
  25. Convictions become idols more easily than you think.
  26. Stop lying to yourself.
  27. Don’t hate your doubt.
  28. I’ll never get rid of my pride and that’s a good thing.
  29. Don’t take yourself too seriously.
  30. Everything I know I learned from Jesus.
