I’m not a Facebook hater. I was a late adopter, but I’ve never been a hater. I like re-connecting with old friends, which I’ve done. I like re-connecting with old acquaintances and becoming better friends than we otherwise would, which I’ve done. I like connecting with current friends beyond the times when I get to see them, which I do frequently. I like reading people’s updates, which I do when I can.

Facebook reveals quite a bit about those we love, as well as those we hardly know. For better or worse, every status update or comment or photograph tells us something about the updater/commenter/uploader: what they like or dislike, what they want us to think or feel, how they want to be perceived. I hate the game updates and I don’t return my private messages like I should, but all in all I like Facebook, and I have no problem with others liking Facebook.

By all means, love Facebook. Just don’t love it more than the people you can actually see.

  • Do you spend more downtime with your timeline than your family?
  • Do you know more about the thoughts and feelings of your virtual friends than your local friends?
  • Do you look for things in your everyday life that would make great status updates?
  • While reading your timeline, do you think of face-to-face conversations you should be having instead?
  • Do you sense anyone wanting you to logoff Facebook and spend time with them?

. . .

NOTE: In light of my 30th birthday and in honor of the guys who have all the fun, I’ll be offering thirty reflections in thirty days starting December 19th. Today’s post is #14 (see the so-far list here). The only rule is that I have 250 words to make my point. After that just stop reading. Thanks for making my blog part of your internet experience. 

