We all waste time, and wasting time is unacceptable. So what should we do?

First, stop wasting time. If your DVR is full – like, literally you cannot record another show because you have so much waiting to be watched – you have a time-wasting problem. You are not living the life you were designed for. My suggestion is to get rid of cable for six months and fill the Tivo-shaped whole in your heart with anything you can’t do sitting still. Same could be said for Facebook, words with friends, video games, or espn.com.

Second, waste time well. Few of us have the energy or attention span to avoid wasting time altogether, so instead we must learn to waste time well. Be intentional with your break time. Work on a different task. Call a friend. Write a poem. Scrapbook. Read the Bible. If you’re going to watch Youtube videos, watch something that legitimately benefits you or those around you. I’m all for pure, unadulterated, purposeless play when it’s time to play. But not when it’s time to work. When it’s time to work, waste time well.

I write most of my blog posts in small increments when I need to push pause on my other work. Instead of distracting myself online or distracting someone else in conversation, I just try to write something meaningful for ten minutes and then I get back to work. I hope what I’m writing helps you waste time well. (Now get back to work!) :)

. . .

NOTE: In light of my 30th birthday and in honor of the guys who have all the fun, I’ll be offering thirty reflections in thirty days starting December 19th. Today’s post is #15 (see the so-far list here). The only rule is that I have 250 words to make my point. After that just stop reading. Thanks for making my blog part of your internet experience. 

